New Macs With M1 Chips

Other discussions not related to the Permanent Portfolio

Moderator: Global Moderator

User avatar
dualstow
Executive Member
Executive Member
Posts: 10929
Joined: Wed Oct 27, 2010 10:18 am
Contact:

Re: New Macs With M1 Chips

Post by dualstow » Wed Nov 18, 2020 5:43 pm

I’ve just got the one Compaq display that i bought for a Windows xp tower in the mid-late aughts.
Pubs in England are a dying breed. (nyt)
https://www.nytimes.com/2020/11/28/world/europe/england-.html
User avatar
Smith1776
Executive Member
Executive Member
Posts: 1834
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2017 6:01 pm

Re: New Macs With M1 Chips

Post by Smith1776 » Thu Nov 19, 2020 11:39 am

dualstow wrote:
Wed Nov 18, 2020 5:43 pm
I’ve just got the one Compaq display that i bought for a Windows xp tower in the mid-late aughts.
The wonderful thing about the MacBook Pro is that even though it "only" supports two external monitors, those are in addition to the built-in display. So, technically I have a triple monitor setup, even though one of the monitors is comically tiny next to the others.

When I finish school I will sell my current MBP and get an Apple silicon powered one.

I'm not sure if I should be more impressed by Apple's processor engineering or disappointed by Intel's. Either way, I've been seeing a lot of the fanboys from the PC community kind of get taken aback at how good Apple's processor chops are. A lot of the old arguments about Apple selling overpriced and underpowered hardware now have to be revisited.
Do yourself a favour and ditch JavaScript: https://rubyonrails.org/
“The answer is not more hours, it's less bullshit.” -- DHH
"The cleanest energy is the energy we don't use." -- Unknown
"Talk is cheap. Show me the code." -- Linus Torvalds
User avatar
vnatale
Executive Member
Executive Member
Posts: 4640
Joined: Fri Apr 12, 2019 8:56 pm
Location: Massachusetts
Contact:

Re: New Macs With M1 Chips

Post by vnatale » Thu Nov 19, 2020 12:04 pm

Smith1776 wrote:
Thu Nov 19, 2020 11:39 am
dualstow wrote:
Wed Nov 18, 2020 5:43 pm
I’ve just got the one Compaq display that i bought for a Windows xp tower in the mid-late aughts.
The wonderful thing about the MacBook Pro is that even though it "only" supports two external monitors, those are in addition to the built-in display. So, technically I have a triple monitor setup, even though one of the monitors is comically tiny next to the others.

When I finish school I will sell my current MBP and get an Apple silicon powered one.

I'm not sure if I should be more impressed by Apple's processor engineering or disappointed by Intel's. Either way, I've been seeing a lot of the fanboys from the PC community kind of get taken aback at how good Apple's processor chops are. A lot of the old arguments about Apple selling overpriced and underpowered hardware now have to be revisited.
Three or four years ago I bought for $500 this used computer with an i7 and 16GB RAM with a four output monitor video card (and I do have four monitors connected to it). What would it cost me now to buy an equivalent used Apple computer?

Vinny
"I only regret that I have but one lap to give to my cats."
User avatar
Smith1776
Executive Member
Executive Member
Posts: 1834
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2017 6:01 pm

Re: New Macs With M1 Chips

Post by Smith1776 » Thu Nov 19, 2020 12:27 pm

vnatale wrote:
Thu Nov 19, 2020 12:04 pm

Three or four years ago I bought for $500 this used computer with an i7 and 16GB RAM with a four output monitor video card (and I do have four monitors connected to it). What would it cost me now to buy an equivalent used Apple computer?

Vinny
4 monitors is awesome! Hehe, so I have to admit though, I really like having an odd rather than even number of monitors. I like having one monitor in the center and the same number of monitors on either side. Having an even number of monitors either means a given setup will have you staring right at the bezel between two monitors or something otherwise lopsided.
Do yourself a favour and ditch JavaScript: https://rubyonrails.org/
“The answer is not more hours, it's less bullshit.” -- DHH
"The cleanest energy is the energy we don't use." -- Unknown
"Talk is cheap. Show me the code." -- Linus Torvalds
User avatar
sophie
Executive Member
Executive Member
Posts: 4098
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 7:15 pm

Re: New Macs With M1 Chips

Post by sophie » Thu Nov 19, 2020 3:56 pm

I just hopped on the university apple store (educational discount) to look at macbook pros, and found something interesting.

The options with the M1 chip are limited to 512 Gb SSD drive and 8 Gb memory.

If you want a 1 Tb drive and 16 Gb memory, you have to go with the intel processor.

For the mathematical computing I'm using it for, 8 Gb memory would be a nasty limitation. I'm ok with the 512 Gb because I use Dropbox with the smart sync feature.

Anyone know if that is a hard limit on memory for the M1 chip laptops, or is that upgradeable after the fact?
User avatar
Mark Leavy
Executive Member
Executive Member
Posts: 1173
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 10:20 pm
Location: US Citizen, Permanent Traveler

Re: New Macs With M1 Chips

Post by Mark Leavy » Thu Nov 19, 2020 4:03 pm

I just went to the Apple (educational store) web site and it let me configure a Macbook Air with 16Gigs of memory and 2TB storage.
Unfortunately, I'll be waiting until it is available to the general public.
air.png
air.png (294.08 KiB) Viewed 121 times
User avatar
Smith1776
Executive Member
Executive Member
Posts: 1834
Joined: Fri Apr 21, 2017 6:01 pm

Re: New Macs With M1 Chips

Post by Smith1776 » Thu Nov 19, 2020 4:09 pm

Interesting discrepancy.

Sophie, is that perhaps just a limitation with the education outlet of the online store?
Do yourself a favour and ditch JavaScript: https://rubyonrails.org/
“The answer is not more hours, it's less bullshit.” -- DHH
"The cleanest energy is the energy we don't use." -- Unknown
"Talk is cheap. Show me the code." -- Linus Torvalds
User avatar
sophie
Executive Member
Executive Member
Posts: 4098
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 7:15 pm

Re: New Macs With M1 Chips

Post by sophie » Thu Nov 19, 2020 4:18 pm

My mistake, you can upgrade to 16 Gb and 2 Tb disk. It's only $180 to get the extra 8Gb. A virtual requirement for anyone who doesn't intend to buy a new laptop every year, I would think.

I'm going to stick with the 512 Gb disk actually....with Dropbox smart sync there seriously is no need for more than that. And the drive should be upgradeable if the laptop outlasts moore's law for disk space.

Mark are you sure you couldn't buy the Air on the educational store? I'm on it and having no problem ordering the macbook pro (with M1).
User avatar
Mark Leavy
Executive Member
Executive Member
Posts: 1173
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2012 10:20 pm
Location: US Citizen, Permanent Traveler

Re: New Macs With M1 Chips

Post by Mark Leavy » Thu Nov 19, 2020 4:24 pm

sophie wrote:
Thu Nov 19, 2020 4:18 pm
Mark are you sure you couldn't buy the Air on the educational store? I'm on it and having no problem ordering the macbook pro (with M1).
Not sure. I just assumed that I would need to provide some educator credentials - which I don't have.
User avatar
sophie
Executive Member
Executive Member
Posts: 4098
Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2012 7:15 pm

Re: New Macs With M1 Chips

Post by sophie » Thu Nov 19, 2020 4:24 pm

Last question for the apple experts: is buying apple care worth it? I've always bought it but never used it.
User avatar
Hal
Executive Member
Executive Member
Posts: 711
Joined: Tue May 03, 2011 1:50 am

Re: New Macs With M1 Chips

Post by Hal » Thu Nov 19, 2020 5:08 pm

I have never purchased Apple Care, instead put the money toward extra options.
Never had any reliability problems with any Macbook I had purchased. YMMV
Aussie GoldSmithPP - 25% PMGOLD, 75% VDCO
User avatar
Xan
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 3017
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2012 1:51 pm

Re: New Macs With M1 Chips

Post by Xan » Thu Nov 19, 2020 5:41 pm

sophie wrote:
Thu Nov 19, 2020 4:18 pm
My mistake, you can upgrade to 16 Gb and 2 Tb disk. It's only $180 to get the extra 8Gb. A virtual requirement for anyone who doesn't intend to buy a new laptop every year, I would think.
I should say so! I just upgraded my laptop to 64GB from 32GB. How you can sell one at 16 unupgradable is hard to imagine.
Post Reply