Vaccines

Other discussions not related to the Permanent Portfolio

Moderator: Global Moderator

BearBones
Executive Member
Executive Member

Vaccines

Post by BearBones » Sat Jan 30, 2016 12:32 pm

Don't want this to detract from my other posts today, but...  ;)

Yep, I am a physician who found myself dating an anti-vax woman. Vehement. Most of her arguments I find pretty lame. A few are of merit and need some research. Anyone looked into this a lot and have some opinions grounded in strong science?
dualstow
Executive Member
Executive Member

Re: Vaccines

Post by dualstow » Sat Jan 30, 2016 1:44 pm

No, but even though I'm pro-vax, I'm curious:
Which of her arguments did you find to be "of merit"?
loot "goods taken from an enemy, etc.," 1839, Anglo-Indian, from Hindi lut, from Sanskrit loptram, lotram "booty, stolen property,"fm. PIE root *reup- "to snatch"
curfew - early 14c., curfeu, "evening signal, ringing of a bell at a fixed hour" as a signal to extinguish fires and lights, ... from Old French cuevrefeu, literally "cover fire"
BearBones
Executive Member
Executive Member

Post by BearBones » Sat Jan 30, 2016 2:06 pm

Mainly the payouts of the National Vaccine Injury Compensation Program. I think I understand why this was set up, since all of the law suits generated in the 1980's by the purported DPT-autism link about eliminated all vaccine manufacturing in this country. But the fact that this still exists at this point seems to give credence to the "vaccines do harm" camp, so it may defeat the purpose. Not sure why manufacturers don't just increase the price to cover litigation, like they do with other drugs. Probably has to do with the fact that vaccines are not highly profitable (unlike Lipitor, for example), and they are mandated in some arenas for public health. So the government helps make sure that the companies stay in production and are partly protected from capricious juries.
MediumTex
Administrator
Administrator