What is a quantum computer?

Other discussions not related to the Permanent Portfolio

Moderator: Global Moderator

notsheigetz
Executive Member
Executive Member

What is a quantum computer?

Post by notsheigetz »

I'm interested to know because there is a Lockheed Martin plant right across the street from me and because Google just bought one of their quantum computers (I've resisted applying for a job with them because I've always figured they were mostly about blowing people to kingdom come which I would rather not be involved in).

I'm a software engineer (aka computer programmer) who flunked high school physics but I've gotten interested in Quantum physics/mechanics of late. My knowledge is constrained to what I read in popular science books.

In my personal computing experience everything can be distilled down to basic equations wherein one can rely on the fact that there are only two states of matter - either true or false, aka binary. From my understanding of quantum mechanics, this doesn't fly any more. At the quantum level we have to deal with things like the "Heisenberg Uncertainty Principle". Basically, things are neither true nor false any more. It all depends, mostly on whether you are looking at it or not.

(And in my reading on Quantum mechanics I learned that Einstein actually received the Nobel prize for his work in this area and not the theory of relativity as most people would assume. He later disavowed some of it as nonsense that would eventually be discarded when the truth became known but as I understand it the opposite happened in his lifetime.)

So, if there any geniuses in physics on the board (and I think there might be), can you explain to a layman like me in simple language how there can be such a thing as a quantum computer?
This space available for rent.
dualstow
Executive Member
Executive Member

Re: What is a quantum computer?

Post by dualstow »