Other discussions not related to the Permanent Portfolio

Moderator: Global Moderator

stuper1
Executive Member
Executive Member

Paging Tyler

Post by stuper1 » Sun May 16, 2021 3:52 pm

Hi Tyler,

I have some questions for you. I have long admired your website for it's classic, simple look, along with the excellent information and tools you have created. I'm thinking about creating a website on a science topic that fascinates me, nothing to do with investing or finance. This would just be a hobby project of mine, nothing serious. Do you mind saying what kind of software was used to create/maintain your website? Also, do you have any tips on finding a good web hosting service? Any other tips you can provide, say good books I could read on the process of creating a website, or any other tips. Thank you in advance for whatever you feel comfortable saying in response. As you can tell, I'm a complete newbie at this stuff. That's another reason I want to do this, just to give me an excuse to learn how to create/maintain a website.
Tyler
Executive Member
Executive Member

Re: Paging Tyler

Post by Tyler » Mon May 17, 2021 10:19 am

I've always found that taking the time to organize your thoughts clearly enough to publish them on a website is a really rewarding way to explore the things you find most interesting. So starting one is a great idea.

Personally, I use a combination of Wordpress for the site and Excel for the interactive charts. I highly recommend Wordpress.com (run by the inventors of Wordpress) as a hosting service, especially if you're just getting started. You can sign up for a completely free page to get your feet wet, and it's dead simple to use with lots of great built-in features and no tech knowledge needed on your end at all. It's also easy to scale at an affordable price.