Relative Newbie... Not happy with 1 year performance

Discussion of funds that implement the Permanent Portfolio strategy

Moderator: Global Moderator

pc

Relative Newbie... Not happy with 1 year performance

Post by pc » Sat Jun 23, 2012 1:59 pm

Hey everyone,

I've been educating myself for the past several years, bought PRPFX about 10 months ago (early Aug 2011), and I'm down about 5.5%.  Doesn't please me, of course. 

I would have thought the fund would hold it's own in a climate like the past year; that indeed, it's diversification would be well-suited, and while I might not be up, I wouldn't be down either.  But it's been more volatile then expected, and doing pretty poorly regardless of the up's and downs of the larger markets.

So, I'm starting to consider cutting my losses, bailing on the principles of the PP.  But before I go, wanted to invite any comments, words of encouragement or enlightenment.

Appreciate it -
Pointedstick
Executive Member
Executive Member

Re: Relative Newbie... Not happy with 1 year performance

Post by Pointedstick » Sat Jun 23, 2012 3:20 pm

Welcome to the forum! I'm sorry you haven't had good results with PRPFX. However, I believe this is because PRPFX isn't really a "real" PP. The overview reveals substantial unnecessary and dangerous differences from an orthodox 25/25/25/25 PP:

20% Gold
5% Silver
10% Swiss Franc Assets
15% U.S. and Foreign Real Estate and Natural Resource Stocks
15% Aggressive Growth Stocks
35% U.S. Treasury Bills, Bonds and Other Dollar Assets

In addition to unnecessarily speculating in real estate, natural resource stocks, and Swiss francs, PRPFX seems to seriously underweight long-term treasuries, which have been going nuts during your timeframe.

I only just started my PP two months ago, but a quick and dirty Google backtest reveals that it would have done substantially better than PRPFX: