Bonds and IRAs

Discussion of the Bond portion of the Permanent Portfolio

Moderator: Global Moderator

KodoCastle

Bonds and IRAs

Post by KodoCastle » Tue Jan 15, 2019 1:36 am

Hello all,

I'm new to investing and am trying to get my head around how to use IRAs with PP.

I have a plan of opening a Roth IRA account at Vanguard, and use their free service to buy US Treasuries (30-year bonds and 52-week T-bills).

For proper tax shelter from the interest payments, I'm I right in thinking I want a Roth IRA as opposed to a normal IRA, or does it not matter with respect to avoiding taxes on the earned interest? Related, this is a case where I want my interest to be sent/re-invested into my IRA, not my "settlement account", right?

And, am I allowed to sell the assets in my (Roth) IRA without penalty as long as the money I get from the sale goes into my (Roth) IRA? As in, I'll be able to sell my 30-year bonds after 10 years without much hassle?

Any info would be much appreciated!

EDIT: Apologies, thought of some questions about contribution limits. Do the interest payments made to the IRA count towards the contribution limit? Do sales/trades of bonds held in the IRA count to the contribution limit, or are they considered neutral?
sophie
Executive Member
Executive Member

Re: Bonds and IRAs

Post by sophie » Tue Jan 15, 2019 7:04 am

Before you go doing anything irreversible, you'd better read up on IRAs:

https://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/Traditional_IRA

https://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/Roth_IRA

https://www.bogleheads.org/wiki/Traditional_versus_Roth

This is a pretty good source, but you may wish to check out others, and to read the IRS instructions for each type of account.
KodoCastle

Post by KodoCastle » Tue Jan 15, 2019 9:29 am

From sophie's proper prodding for me to do more research, here are the answers I found. Would appreciate if people could confirm or correct my answers to give me some more confidence in my understanding.

KodoCastle wrote: