How bad was my timing?

Discussion of the Bond portion of the Permanent Portfolio

Moderator: Global Moderator

far north steve

How bad was my timing?

Post by far north steve »

I apologize if this topic has been covered before.  I am new to the Permanent Portfolio but really felt that this made a lot of sense.  I read the book  and finally committed  to it 100%.  Promptly, the 30 year bonds fell over 10%.  I locked in at 2.6% and re-read the section on timing and it said clearly to just buy the bonds and do not try to dollar cost average.  I bought in the first week of April, right at the bottom. Now I am thinking that I really screwed up by buying in at the bottom.  What happens if the rates rise to 4.5%?  Do I just keep them when I reach the 20 year mark and not sell since that would incur such a large loss?  I wake up at night and think "Did I screw up?"  Any advice would be appreciated.
Tom

Re: How bad was my timing?

Post by Tom »

It's tough to not have those thoughts and worries, but the idea is that over the course of a year and longer losses from one asset should balance out with gains in another or at the very least protect your overall portfolio from severe losses.  10% loss in one asset will be minimized by the overall portfolio.

The markets are unstable and that's why you're here.  If you hadn't bought the bonds would you really feel better?  If you hadn't bought the bonds, would you go forever without them?  Probably not - at some point you'd have to decide when to buy and you probably wouldn't feel comfortable making that call.  No one knows what's going to happen, which again is why you chose this strategy.  Everyone thinks bonds are going to tank.  Maybe they're right.  But it wouldn't be the first time everyone has thought this and it hasn't happened.  In 2009 it was the same general thought.  Bonds gained about 30%.