Faith is believing something you know ain't true

Discussion of the Bond portion of the Permanent Portfolio

Moderator: Global Moderator

bill

Faith is believing something you know ain't true

Post by bill »

The quote is from Mark Twain, but the sentiments are mine.  I am new to the Permanent Portfolio, and I have just read the Rowland / Lawson book on it, but I just simply cannot bring myself to put 50% of my assets into bonds and cash, when I know they are headed over the cliff.  See http://sprottphysicalbullion.com/sprott ... old/.    I'm sorry, but I just can't see myself buying 30 year Treasury bonds when all I hear from everyone is "when interest rates go up, the value of bonds goes down."  Right now, interest rates are close to zero.  So, either they will go negative (which they won't), stay at zero (which they won't), or go up.  When I bought the book, I was hoping I'd found the answer, but I just don't trust something that tells me to do something I know is wrong.
Pointedstick
Executive Member
Executive Member

Re: Faith is believing something you know ain't true

Post by Pointedstick »

Welcome to the forum! The PP is a hard portfolio to accept because it's composed of very different assets, and usually you will hate one of them. A lot of people share your distrust of government bonds.

If you KNOW that interest rates will rise, you have an excellent way to make a lot of money by shorting bonds. Would you be comfortable doing this? If not, ask yourself why not. Are you really so certain after all? If it turns out that you're not so sure that interest will soon rise that you're willing to put real money on it, then you're in the same boat as the rest of us. :) Ask all the people who are telling you that bonds will get crushed when rates rise if they've been shorting bonds themselves. I think you may find the answer to be illuminating.