Considering PP; have questions

General Discussion on the Permanent Portfolio Strategy

Moderator: Global Moderator

dr ratdog

Considering PP; have questions

Post by dr ratdog » Wed Nov 13, 2013 10:17 am

Hey everyone, I'm a total newbie to the PP and by new I mean I don't use it (yet?).  I've done some reading and have some questions that maybe could help me transition (at least partially) to the PP.  I'm sorry if these questions have already been addressed in the past - I tried searching the forums but couldn't find what I was looking for.

I've arranged all my anxieties by topic - feel free to reply to all or just a particular issue.  Thanks in advance for your thoughts!

Cash

I have no real way of investing directly in a Treasury MM - my best alternative would be a short term treasury bond fund (or a regular MM).  But if cash is for stability it seems like this would be a bad idea - I haven't found a single fund that doesn't fluctuate its share price and many of them have been on downward trends.  I feel nervous about putting cash in an account that isn't stable.  I know inflation erodes away its value over time but in a ST bond fund it seems like the potential is for it to lose its value more quickly.  Would a MM not be an acceptable alternative?  I know these have broken the buck in the past but this seems rare.

Bonds

LT Treasuries, and TLT specifically, seem like a bad option right now and the future doesn't look good.  If interest rates rise (which is all they can do at this point, right?) won't these fall in value even more?  Even over the last 10 or so years it seems like these funds have gone up and down quite a bit.  I guess this also makes me nervous since they seem a bit unpredictable. 

Stocks