Seeking advice: Do I have the wrong approach in my attempt at the PP in my 401k?

General Discussion on the Permanent Portfolio Strategy

Moderator: Global Moderator

samuraidog
Associate Member
Associate Member

Seeking advice: Do I have the wrong approach in my attempt at the PP in my 401k?

Post by samuraidog »

All,

I’m fairly new to the Permanent Portfolio and I’d like to get some opinions on whether I’m going about it the wrong way. My employer’s 401k plan is with Vanguard. This entire discussion relates to my 401k, as I have no other investment funds (other than 6-months worth of emergency savings).

My situation is as follows.
Current 401k balance: $230k
Monthly contribution: About $1,500
Previous 401k holding: 100% in Target Retirement 2035 (VTTHX)
Started PP on Jan. 1, 2013 with a balance of $236k
Position as of 1/1/2013 (obviously, percentages have changed since then):

25% in Vanguard Institutional Index Fund (VINIX) -- 0.04% expense ratio
  25% in Vanguard Retirement Savings Trust II -- 0.31% expense ratio
  25% in PIMCO Total Return Fund Institutional Class (PTTRX) – 0.46% expense ratio
  25% in brokerage option for gold ETF (SGOL)

My balance has dropped about $6k, even though I’ve contributed around $9k so far this year. I know that others using the PP have also taken a beating this year, so I'm not entirely discouraged. However, I’m wondering if I’m going about it the wrong way and whether I’m positioned for long term success with this portfolio (assuming the track record of the PP holds true).

Bottom line, I guess the questions I have are…

1) Is my 401k portfolio consistent with the Permanent Portfolio?

2) Is it even a good idea to attempt the Permanent Portfolio with one’s 401k? Or, is the PP a better strategy for funds outside of one’s 401k? In other words, if you were me, would you give up on the idea of the PP in your 401k?

Thank you in advance for your help.

P.S.