PP YTD performance - was it the worst ever?

General Discussion on the Permanent Portfolio Strategy

Moderator: Global Moderator

jason
Executive Member
Executive Member

PP YTD performance - was it the worst ever?

Post by jason » Tue Sep 06, 2022 2:12 pm

I was just wondering if the performance of the PP year-to-date is the worst it has ever performed, or has it had a period(s) in the past where it actually performed worse? I've been doing the PP for 9 years and my returns are anemic. My CAGR is around 5%. Because I am retired and living off of my investments, I'm looking at the possibility of having to move into riskier investments or else having to slash my lifestyle/living expenses, which my wife probably will not want to tolerate. She'd rather take more risk than do that. Are many people here still optimistic about it bouncing back?
dockinGA
Executive Member
Executive Member

Re: PP YTD performance - was it the worst ever?

Post by dockinGA » Tue Sep 06, 2022 2:35 pm

jason wrote:
Tue Sep 06, 2022 2:12 pm
I was just wondering if the performance of the PP year-to-date is the worst it has ever performed, or has it had a period(s) in the past where it actually performed worse? I've been doing the PP for 9 years and my returns are anemic. My CAGR is around 5%. Because I am retired and living off of my investments, I'm looking at the possibility of having to move into riskier investments or else having to slash my lifestyle/living expenses, which my wife probably will not want to tolerate. She'd rather take more risk than do that. Are many people here still optimistic about it bouncing back?
I'm not particularly optimistic on it 'bouncing back' (meaning that it suddenly bounces back to having stellar returns). But I'm also of the opinion that by the time the dust settles, there's a good chance that the PP ends up being the 'best looking horse in the glue factory' as someone recently put it.