Are most people here sticking with Treasuries?

General Discussion on the Permanent Portfolio Strategy

Moderator: Global Moderator

jason
Executive Member
Executive Member

Are most people here sticking with Treasuries?

Post by jason » Thu Apr 07, 2022 1:34 pm

I've been doing the HBPP for almost 9 years and I've done decently well with it. It's been a bit frustrating to see inflation soaring lately and my portfolio basically going nowhere or dropping a bit. And it's been especially frustrating to watch Treasuries drop a lot and it seems the stage is set for them to crash further. But at the same time, I am sticking with the PP, and sticking with Treasuries, because I'm too scared about making market timing decisions. I've made wrong decisions more times than I care to remember. Are most people here holding steady with the PP? Are a lot of people here who have been doing the PP for a long time getting out of Treasuries?
snedgar

Re: Are most people here sticking with Treasuries?

Post by snedgar » Thu Apr 07, 2022 1:55 pm

I've been all-in for 14 years, switching to GB a while back based on things I learned here and on Tyler's site.
Not thrilled about LT Treasuries, but they are an integral element of system.
In my case, I have all I need so my primary goal is to not do something stupid AND a lower SD is important for distributions.
So I'm staying the course, at least until I am convinced that a different holistic portfolio will work better.

Multiple smart people here have recently commented that the VP portion of the plan can be a good option; leaving "money you can't afford to lose" in PP/GB, while taking a different approach (possibly with no exposure to LT bonds) in the VP. This seems like it could constitute a good middle ground.